S BloomfieldServing in the Deaf Community

Welcome! You are in the right place to find out about the opportunities for learning and worship. Our Missional Chaplain with the Deaf Community is The Revd Sister Susan Bloomfield, a Deaf Church Army Evangelist.  Susan is also Missional Chaplain in the Diocese of Southwell & Nottingham. Susan was commissioned as a Church Army evangelist in 1994 and ordained Priest in June 2014.  Susan is fluent in both English and British Sign Language.  She can conduct weddings, baptisms and funerals in BSL or English for Deaf people.

You can contact Susan by email at: smbloomfield@gmail.com 

Signed Services in Derby

Regular Services in British Sign Language take place in St. Alkmunds Church, Kedleston Road, Derby.

There is a FaceBook page where you can find out up-to-date news on the services. https://www.facebook.com/Deaf-Church-in-Nottinghamshire-and-Derbyshire-906831266097538/

 

BSL Bible Study Group

If you are interested in Bible study in BSL then please contact the Chaplain for more information

 

Baptisms, Weddings and Funerals

Baptisms, Wedding and Funerals can be conducted in British Sign Language (with English voice-over translation). If you need an interpreter for an event contact the chaplain for more information as soon as you have a date for the event.

Pastoral Care

The chaplain is available to Deaf people throughout Derbyshire if you need to talk in confidence.

 

Dates for Services in BSL

Derby: meets in St. Alkmunds, 40 Kedleston Road, Derby. DE22 1GU

Sunday 12th February 3.30pm

Sunday 12 March 3.30pm

Sunday 9th April 3.30pm

Sunday 14th May 3.30pm

Sunday 11th June 3.30pm

Sunday 9th July 3.30pm

Sunday 10th September 3.30pm

Sunday 8th October 3.30pm

Sunday 12th November 3.30pm

Sunday 10th December - 3.30pm Christmas Service

 

The Chaplain also conducts services in Southwell and Nottingham Diocese. You are welcome to join us for worship.

Nottingham: meets in Nottinghamshire Deaf Society Centre, 22 Forest Road West, Nottingham. NG7 4EQ

Sunday 26th February 3.00pm Holy Communion

Sunday 5th March 3.00pm

Sunday 26th March 3.00pm Holy Communion

Sunday 2nd April 3.00pm

Sunday 23rd April 3.00pm Holy Communion

Sunday 7th May 3.00pm AGM Nottingham Deaf Church

Sunday 28th May 3.00pm Holy Communion

Sunday 4th June 3.00pm

Sunday 25th June 3.00pm

Sunday 2nd July 3.00pm

Sunday 23rd July 3.00pm Holy Communion

Sunday 6th August 3.00pm

Sunday 27th August 3.00pm Holy Communion

Sunday 3rd September 3.00pm

Sunday 24th September 3.00pm Holy Communion

Sunday 1st October 3.00pm Harvest

Sunday 22nd October 3.00pm Holy Communion

Sunday 5th November 3.00pm

Sunday 26th November 3.00pm Holy Communion

Sunday 3rd December

Wednesday 13th December - date to be confirmed with Nottingham 50+ group

Mansfield: Meets in Mansfield Deaf Club 1 Wood Street, Mansfield, Nottinghamshire. NG18 1QB

Sunday April 16th Easter Day - 3.00pm venue to be confirmed

Sunday 17th December - Christmas Service


The Diocese of Derby

Contact Us

Derby Church House

Full Street, Derby DE1 3DR

01332 388650 (reception)

Church House reception: 

enquiries@derby.anglican.org