As you will be aware, Bishop Alastair will be retiring as Bishop of Derby on 31/8/18.  When there is no bishop, the vacancy is known as a Vacancy-in-See.  The process to appoint a new diocesan bishop will be led, on behalf of the Diocese, by the Vacancy-in-See Committee, the members of which listed below.

The Archdeacon of Derby, the Venerable Dr Christopher Cunliffe, has been elected as Chair of the Committee by Bishop’s Council, and the Registrar, Mrs Nadine Waldron, has been elected Secretary.  They will be the ones primarily involved in organising the process following guidance from the Archbishops’ Appointments’ Secretary, in this instance Mr Brad Cook, and from the Prime Minister’s Appointments’ Secretary, Mr Edward Chaplin.  There will be a consultation process, including an open meeting which will be publicised and which people will be very welcome to attend to express their views.

The dedicated e-mail address by which people will be able to write to the Vacancy-in-See Committee is  No individual responses will be made but views and comments will be considered as part of the process of appointing a new bishop.

We, as Chair and Secretary, will be having a preliminary meeting with Brad Cook on 15th January after which a further up-date will be posted on the web-site.

Christopher Cunliffe – Chair

Nadine Waldron – Secretary

Vacancy-in-See Committee

3rd January 2018 


Chair:                Venerable Dr Christopher Cunliffe, Archdeacon of Derby

Clergy:               Rt Revd Jan McFarlane, Bishop of Repton

                          Very Revd Dr Stephen Hance, Dean of Derby, 

                          Venerable Carol Coslett, Archdeacon of Chesterfield (after 14.3.18) 

                          Revd Neil Barber

                          Revd Mark Broomhead

                          Revd Peter Davey

                          Revd Alicia Dring

                          Revd Julian Hollywell

                          Revd Canon Dr Simon Taylor

Laity:                  Mrs Kat Alldread

                           Mrs Molly Andrews

                           Mrs Rachel Bell

                           Mr Jack Cooper

                           Mrs Hannah Grivell

                           Miss Hannah Hawkins

                           Mrs Christine Holmes-Elener

                           Mr Nigel Selby

                           Mr Mark Titterton

Secretary:           Mrs Nadine Waldron

Email address:

Postal address:   Derby Church House, 1 Full Street, Derby, DE1 3DR

The Diocese of Derby

Contact Us

Derby Church House

Full Street, Derby DE1 3DR

01332 388650 (reception)

Church House reception: